17th Annual Research Planning Meeting, 2015

Dates: 1/26/2016

Monday, November 16, 2015

8:00 am
Welcome and Introductions
» Dr. Lisa Mauer: Professor of Food Science & Director of the Center for Food Safety Engineering
» Dr. Brian Farkas: Professor and Head of Food Science
8:20 am
Overview and update of USDA research activities
» Dr. James Lindsay, USDA ARS National Program Leader
» Dr. George Paoli, USDA, ARS, Eastern Regional Research Center
8:40 am
BARDOT instrumentation and applications, expansion into HESPI
» Dr. Arun Bhunia: Professor of Food Science
» Dr. Euiwon Bae: Senior Research Scientist of Mechanical Engineering
» Dr. Bartek Rajwa: Research Assistant Professor, Bindley Bioscience Center
» Dr. J. Paul Robinson: Professor of Biomedical Engineering & SVM Professor of Cytomics
10:00 am
Microfluidic Biochips
» Dr. Rashid Bashir: Professor and Head of Electrical and Computer Engineering & Bioengineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
10:20 am
Rapid and Onsite Detection of Foodborne Pathogens with Immunobiosensors
» Dr. Joseph Irudayaraj: Professor of Agricultural and Biological Engineering
11:00 am
Phage-based Technology for E. coli O157:H7 Detection
» Dr. Bruce Applegate: Associate Professor of Food Science
12:30 pm
Cell Concentration and Detection (C3D)
» Dr. Michael Ladisch: Distinguished Professor of Agricultural and Biological Engineering
1:40 pm
Prevalence and persistence of Listeria monocytogenes
» Dr. Haley Oliver, Associate Professor of Food Science
2:00 pm
Bacterial communities on food - NextGen sequencing
» Dr. Robert Pruitt: Professor of Botany and Plant Pathology
2:20 pm
Pathogen internalization - Responses to sanitation
» Dr. Amanda Deering: Clinical Assistant Professor of Food Science
2:40 pm
Fungal genera associated with food
» Dr. M. Catherine Aime: Professor of Botany and Plant Pathology
3:00 pm
Bacteria associated with meat and poultry processing plants
» Dr. Manpreet Singh: Associate Professor of Food Science
3:40 pm
Poster Session

Tuesday, November 17, 2015

8:00 am
» Dr. Karen Plaut: Senior Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Affairs, College of Agriculture
8:15 am
Evaluation of monoclonal antibodies and a new commercial ELISA for Shiga toxin 1 and 2
» Dr. Andrew Ghering: USDA, ARS, ERRC
8:45 am
Development of monoclonal antibodies and detection methods for bacterial toxins
» Dr. Larry Stanker: USDA ARS Pacific West Area
9:15 am
Overview of aqueous inactivation of pathogenic bacteria on fresh produce, and a new FDA approved formulation
» Dr. Joshua Gurtler: USDA ARS ERRC
10:00 am
New technology session
» Dr. J. Paul Robinson
» Dr. Bartek Rajwa
» Dr. Euiwon Bae
» Dr. Jan Allebach
» Dr. George Chiu
» Dr. Lia Stanciu
» Dr. Charilaos Mousoulis
» Dr. Dimitrios Peroulis
» Dr. Haley Oliver
» Dr. Arun Bhunia
» Dr. Joseph Irudayaraj
» Dr. Rashid Bashir